Mar. 29th, 2005

New Tunes

Mar. 29th, 2005 12:24 am
mandysee_mandydo: (Default)
Today is a good day. Never Say Never has finished a new song called "You're Fucked" and it is indeed the balls nasty. I highly recommend it to all of those reading who like metal, especially hardcore borderlining death metal. These guys are local NH and make me proud. Never let it be said good music can't come from a state mostly populated by cows and moose.

Candace called from Japan tonight. She seems to be handling pregnancy reasonably well, regardless of all the getting sick and the heyhey. I was bummed to not have time to talk. She called just as I was getting in the van to drive Chris home. She'll hopefully call back tomorrow. Sam's a busy worker bee forecasting all kinds of crazy Asian weather for the US Air Force. Apparently he's going away for a conference for the next couple days.

My second chance at a slow week is starting to look like a continuation of the busy month. Now going on busy month and a half. I've been so aggravated lately that I've been able to spend so little time at home. It's incredibly frustrating to pay rent on a place where I only show up to sleep. I may as well be homeless because for all the good I supposedly get out of the few things I own, I wouldn't know it because lately I never get to enjoy it. For what it's worth, [livejournal.com profile] nepenthe01, I have a little glimpse into what it must have been like for you while you were traveling for your job. The only difference is I'm so close yet (prepare for the cliche) so far away (Hall and Oates would be proud).

Regardless of my ire at being away from home so much, I'm looking forward to going to Nashua this weekend and celebrating Steve's big 30th. We're going to Tomb in Boston on Saturday and following it with a potluck feast. Way cool. While in Nashua we'll probably also spend some time with family. My sister and brother-in-law moved into their new place so I should probably go over and check it out. I should also visit my new nephew. And I'll probably swing over and visit Andy and Tara.

Kathy and I both have Mothra's music stuck in our heads, yet we have two different versions of it. I have the 60s chant-like version stuck in my head while she has the more modern cute song sung by the Mothra twins.

I'm thinking that at the end of April I'll take Kathy to see Fred Garbo's Inflatable Theater at Silver Cultural Arts Center when it shows. It looks quite interesting and it's a dinner theater show. Actually it looks really freaky and psychadelic, which is just my style. And we don't take advantage of all the culture brought by the university nearly enough.

I'm happy to be home. Yay!
mandysee_mandydo: (Default)
You scored as The Beast. Your alter ego is The Beast! But that is only a name... you are kind hearted and sweet, people just misunderstand you.

</td>

The Beast

88%

Peter Pan

81%

Donald Duck

81%

Goofy

75%

Cinderella

75%

Sleeping Beauty

63%

Snow White

56%

Cruella De Ville

56%

Ariel

50%

Pinocchio

38%

Which Disney Character is your Alter Ego?
created with QuizFarm.com
mandysee_mandydo: (V)
So three posts in one night. I apologize. I just wanted to post these lyrics. I've been listening to the album again lately and remembering how much I really like it. And now, the lyrics of my favorite track on the album to give food for thought:


KMFDM - "Dogma"

All we want is a headrush.
All we want is to get out of our skin for a while.

We have nothing to lose because we don't have anything...
anything we want, anyway.

We used to hate people,
now we just make fun of them - it's more effective that way.

We don't live, we just scratch on day-to-day with nothing but
matchbooks and sarcasm in our pockets and all we're waiting for is
for something worth waiting for.

Let's admit America gets the celebrities we deserve.
Let's stop saying "don't quote me" because if no one quotes you,
you probably haven't said a thing worth saying.

Sex, drugs, God, cash, sex, drugs, God - America

We need something to kill the pain of all that nothing inside.
We all just want to die a little bit.

We fear that pop-culture is the only kind of culture we're ever gonna
have.
We want to stop reading magazines, stop watching TV, stop caring
about Hollywood, but we're addicted to the things we hate.

We don't run Washington and no one really does.
Ask not what you can do for your country;
ask what your country did to you.

Sex, drugs, God, cash, sex, drugs, God - America

The only reason you're still alive is because someone has decided to
let you live.

We owe so much money we're not broke, we're broken; we're so
poor we can't even pay attention.

So what do you want? You want to be famous and rich and happy but
you're terrified you have nothing to offer this world, nothing to say
and no way to say it, but you can say it in a few languages.

You are more than the sum of what you consume.
Desire is not an occupation.
You are ultimately thrilled and desperate, sky-high and fucked.

Let's stop praying for someone to save us and start saving ourselves,
let's stop this and start over.
Let's go out - let's keep going!

This your life, this is your fucking life!

We need something to kill the pain of all that nothing inside.

Quit whining, you haven't done anything wrong because frankly
you haven't done much of anything.

Someone's writing down your mistakes.
Someone's documenting your downfall.
mandysee_mandydo: (Default)
It looks as though in a couple days my woes of being a personal chauffeur for my fiance will be nearing an end. We saw a Chevy Cavalier for sale for $300 in Ashland. It looks to be in fairly good condition body-wise, with the exception of a couple rust spots. Supposedly it runs but is in desperate need of a tune-up. There may be other work necessary but for a first car I think it will do just fine. I checked it out under the car, under the hood, etc. I'll check it out a little more next time, hopefully starting it up and taking it for a little spin right on the garage's property. It'll be a good start that we can afford and it'll be fuel efficient with that little 2.8L 4 cylinder engine. And it's the kind of car she started learning on years ago. Perfect for her to practice and get her license.

Now let's hope it doesn't sell before Thursday and the guy has the title and it actually runs.
mandysee_mandydo: (Default)
And now, because [livejournal.com profile] allocate did it...

Your dating personality profile:

Liberal - Politics matters to you, and you aren't afraid to share your left-leaning views. You would never be caught voting for a conservative candidate.
Big-Hearted - You are a kind and caring person. Your warmth is inviting, and your heart is a wellspring of love.
Practical - You are a down-to-earth individual who is not impressed with material excess. You care about the stuff of life that really matters.
Your date match profile:

Practical - You are drawn to people who are sensible and smart. Flashy, materialistic people turn you off. You appreciate the simpler side of living.
Liberal - You need a person who has liberal opinions and beliefs. You are engaged by political discussions and would find a liberal viewpoint refreshing in a date.
Intellectual - You seek out intelligence. Idle chit-chat is not what you are after. You prefer your date who can stimulate your mind.
Your Top Ten Traits

1. Liberal
2. Big-Hearted
3. Practical
4. Intellectual
5. Shy
6. Sensual
7. Athletic
8. Adventurous
9. Wealthy/Ambitious
10. Romantic
Your Top Ten Match Traits

1. Practical
2. Liberal
3. Intellectual
4. Shy
5. Big-Hearted
6. Sensual
7. Athletic
8. Traditional
9. Adventurous
10. Funny

Take the Online Dating Personality Quiz - Dating Advice - Dating Stories


It seems rather spot on. I'm amused that my date should be more practical than me. That's important, since I'm not always that practical. [livejournal.com profile] quantumswordsmn can attest. Remember that John Lennon gold record?

Yeah. I like to think I've improved some since that moment, though. Not fully improved, but certainly better.
mandysee_mandydo: (cute doctor)
Yeah, I know. Yet again I am prolific. I've got to stop all this rampant posting but...

THE NEW DOCTOR WHO EPSIODE ROCKS!!!!!!

I downloaded the BitTorrent of the first episode from a fan site and holy crap! It has a real budget!

Okay, some departures from the traditions:
* The new Doctor is trendy looking, but that's okay. Christopher Eccleston makes an awesome Doctor.
* There was no transformation scene. Bummer. I was looking forward to seeing it, but which Doctor would they transition from? Sylvester McCoy or Paul McGann? I guess either way would upset some folks so I suppose it was for the best they left it out.
* A REAL BUDGET!!! Still, though, the humor had camp still so that's good.

All I have to say is find it, watch it and love it. I can't wait until it's available here in the U.S.

Profile

mandysee_mandydo: (Default)
Jamie Amana Capach

September 2016

S M T W T F S
    123
4567 8910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 01:41 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios