mandysee_mandydo: (Transgender)
nd surprise, it's Fox News! Not at all surprised or impressed. I read about this at en|Gender and, while I can understand why Helen Boyd didn't want to link to it, I think it's important for people to see ignorance and recognize it for what it is. GLAAD has demanded an apology from Fox News and Us Weekly. Only Us Weekly responded with a rather wishy-washy "we didn't mean it" sort of apology. Weak. Again not surprisingly, Fox News has not responded.


Now, beyond this crap... I think it's pretty awesome that there's going to be a transgender contestant on America's Next Top Model! I wish Isis all the best and hope she does well.

Date: 2008-08-17 01:55 pm (UTC)From: [personal profile] nepenthedreams
nepenthedreams: (Default)
I hate Fox News. That guy was so rude. US Weekly at least made an effort to use the right pronoun. The Fox guy is just so threatened that transgendered people exist I guess.

I can't wait until some day when people understand much more about this stuff. I hope Isis has a chance on America's Next Top Model to talk to people and raise some awareness.

Date: 2008-08-17 02:11 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] srturtle.livejournal.com
Agreed. I should say that of the two, I was less irritated by Ian Drew. He was pretty consistent in using the proper female pronouns.

I really hope she has a chance, too, and that she isn't exploited for ratings factor and discarded when they can't milk her gender anymore. I haven't watched the show so I don't have a clear sense on how they might handle this situation. I hope they're progressive and not superficial.

Date: 2008-08-17 08:53 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] specieszero.livejournal.com
Gee, maybe the fact that they didn't hide it and leak it later is because they don't want it to be a publicity stunt. I mean, really, why would you want to treat a transgender person just like all the other contestants? Oh, wait, because they are just like the other contestants. Jesus christ, who cares what Isis has got underneath that dress? I wish her luck, not only in the contest, but in dealing with all of this bullshit that she's going to endure while competing, and after.

Date: 2008-08-18 12:54 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] fossilapostle.livejournal.com
This was painful to watch, and I only got through half of it. Erg.

They really are finding new and better ways to make taller piles of stupid.

Profile

mandysee_mandydo: (Default)
Jamie Amana Capach

September 2016

S M T W T F S
    123
4567 8910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 06:08 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios