mandysee_mandydo: (Default)
I'm having another of those days...

This morning was pretty good. I got plenty of sleep last night. I was listening to the iPod and The Mars Volta came up again. It happened yesterday. It reminded me how much I really, really like them and need to listen to more of their stuff. Something I really like about them is their very obvious and affirmed pre-Dark Side Pink Floyd influence, especially Piper/Saucer era. You can hear Syd Barrett's influence all over their stuff, as well as a touch of Gilmour and Waters. I also really love the quirky rhythms, odd time signatures and most especially their clever use of unresolved dissonance. I LOVE unresolved dissonance! Thelonius Monk, with all of his minor seconds, ain't got nothing on these guys.

I <3 minor seconds and augmented seconds. Is it any wonder I like harmonic minor?

So it was a good morning. I was doing fine. Then the emotional roller-coaster took me for a ride again. For yet another day in a row. I don't know what it is that has me so all over the place emotionally but I was in tears, then I was level, then I was just worn out, then a bit happy, then irritated (yay meetings) and now just overall depressed. WTF?!

The apartment hunt is going. I got a call back on one place and I'll be getting an application soon. We've looked at one place. Unfortunately they didn't want four adults living together in the place and they didn't want any pets whatsoever, not even a bird. *shrug* The place was a bit ghetto anyway, but it would have been livable and VERY inexpensive. It's in Warren near the village school, which means it's also near the town common, a.k.a. where they keep the missle. Okay, thinking of the missle makes me chuckle a little.

So anyway... now I'm home, cooking dinner while Kathy plays an RPG upstairs and I'm listening to music. Why am I listening to AC/DC? Oh! Thoughts on why I don't like AC/DC. I figured it out, I think. I'm fine with Bon Scott era AC/DC. They had a different sound for the time and while the music is bawdy at times, I don't mind that and while the music is simple it's fine for those times when one just wants to rock out mindlessly. Cool. Brian Johnsoon era, though, just grates on my nerves. I used to think it was the way he pushed his voice. I realized the other day (well, maybe a week ago) that what really bugs me even more are his lyrics. Especially songs like Given The Dog a Bone. The lyrics are just completely degrading to women. I was listening to it the other day and, although I have heard this song countless times in my life, the lyrics hit me and I was just like holy crap that's disgusting. I don't have a problem with a song about oral sex. Oral sex is good. Comparing a woman to a dog... nope. Sorry. I don't like it at all.What disgusts me more is I used to do stuff like that trying to be "one of the guys." I'm really glad I don't do shit like that anymore. I've done a lot of stupid, inconsiderate things in my life. I'm sure I'm not done doing stupid, inconsiderate things, but I hope I'm at least much better than I was.

Why am I listening to Creed? *skip* Why am I not listening to The Mars Volta? *filter* There. That's better.

Profile

mandysee_mandydo: (Default)
Jamie Amana Capach

September 2016

S M T W T F S
    123
4567 8910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:21 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios