mandysee_mandydo: (Love)
We had another day of celebration today, which once again involved dinner on someone else and a movie, but let's not Tarantino this too much. We'll start from the beginning.

I went to church as is pretty much usual, except I went in early to help print and prepare the order of service. It came time during the service for candles of joy and celebration, and so I got up and lit a candle, introduced myself with my new last name and told everyone that we were married yesterday and were very happy to be finally married. I had hoped to be far more eloquent, but as usual my nerves got the best of me and I was lucky just to have been coherent and not put my foot in my mouth. :P It was wonderful that the congregation applauded for us. That was a very nice, warm gesture. I did quip as I was returning to my seat that some would say it was about time after twelve years together and that got a bunch of people laughing, which helped with the whole nerves thing.

[profile] painted_wolf and I went out for a nice brunch at her diner of choice after church, and then we went in to her work so she could check in on the crabs. I got to learn a bit more about how the experiment works, so that was cool. I am still to this day, twelve years later, absolutely amazed at how intelligent and bright she is. She makes me proud more than words can say!

After the stop in at work we did some shopping, dropped the perishables off at a safe place to be kept cool until we could go home and then went to see The Incredible Hulk. Very awesome movie. I still enjoyed Get Smart more and still think it's the best movie I've seen this summer so far (with Kung Fu Panda a close second), but that's not to say Hulk was bad. It was great! It was leagues above the previous attempt at a Hulk movie which wasn't even worth the $5 we paid for it in the bargain bin. I don't want to spoil it, but I definitely will say it's worth seeing. Edward Norton makes a great Bruce Banner!

After the movie but before dinner, we returned to the truck and while sitting there I caught a quick glimpse of one of the University police walking down South Main Street. He was dressed in a long rain coat with day-glo orange trim and a rain cap on his dress hat, so my mind interpretted it at first as some day-glo pirate. PW and I had great fun for a while just imagining a pirate policeman:

"Arrrrrr! Ye be parked in a no parking area!"
"Avast ye! Ye be speedin' and I have to ticket ye now!"
"I have to confiscate ye rum now, because ye shouldn't drink it while drivin', arrrrrr!"
"Well shiver me timbers and assault me batteries!"

Next it was off to dinner. We went to the Italian Farmhouse since we had the Common Man gift card very generously gifted to us by my coworkers. This restaurant holds a very romantic significance for us since it was where we went for our first date and usually where we go to celebrate our anniversary. It seemed only fitting to celebrate our marriage there, too! We started by sharing the artichoke pomodoro. As usual I ordered an alfredo dish because I adore alfredo and don't have it often (pretty much only when we celebrate our anniversaries). This time it was the straw and hay, which is spinach and egg pasta with prosciutto and asparagus with alfredo sauce. PW got the farmhouse alfredo with chicken. We each enjoyed a glass of wine and then finished our meal with dessert. She got the chocolate mousse and I got the tiramisu. It was a very delicious meal!

After dinner we grabbed our perishables and headed home where we packed some boxes in the truck to start our move into the summer apartment tomorrow and then I returned my Mom's call. Mom and I had a very long but pleasant conversation. We're probably going to go down to visit them or they might come up here on the weekend of the 4th. I'm not sure if we'll be driving down or taking the bus, but likely the bus since at this point I think the cost of two bus tickets to Manch-vegas is cheaper than the cost of gas for the truck. My parents are cool with driving to pick us up in Manch-vegas from Nashua. It might be nice to take the bus. I don't think I've ever taken a bus that wasn't a school bus, Citybus or T.

Date: 2008-06-23 11:36 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] chenoachem.livejournal.com
Congratulations. You sound so happy.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Date: 2008-06-23 02:24 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] srturtle.livejournal.com
Thank you! :) We're both very happy. :D

I can't wait to see all three of you soon! ^_^

Date: 2008-06-23 10:26 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] ciliandis.livejournal.com
The Concord Trailways buses are actually very affordable and comfortable for what you pay. It's $25 for a round trip to Boston, last I checked, which is so much cheaper than gas, and you don't have to worry about engine woes or getting lost.... so, I'd recommend it.

Date: 2008-06-24 02:57 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] srturtle.livejournal.com
Oh definitely. The only reason I would opt to drive down is so my Dad and I can work on the truck, which is a possibility.

Profile

mandysee_mandydo: (Default)
Jamie Amana Capach

September 2016

S M T W T F S
    123
4567 8910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:29 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios