I will neverevereverevereverever buy a vehicle from Benson again. I just had my truck inspected only to find that, on top of the new tires and tie rod end which I expected, I need welding work done. On the frame. Because it's cracked. Yeah. Looks like another year of several hundred dollars to get a vehicle to pass.
So let's recap. In the ten months that I've owned the truck:
So far I'm not seeing the advantage to buying new or used cars from dealers. I could have paid a few hundred for another junker, done a bunch of DIY repairs and brought it in when it wasn't something I could have done and replaced it when it inevitably died. I would have saved thousands. Lots of thousands.
So let's recap. In the ten months that I've owned the truck:
- The day I went to pick it up I sat in their waiting area for three hours while they replaced the ignition security system because it failed.
- A week after buying it I had to bring it back under warranty to fix an issue with it bucking under load. Turned out to be a cracked spark plug and some filter.
- The dome lights don't work (yes, minor issue but still...)
- The engine is acting funny and does the weird stalling out thing for no apparent reason (though it may be a voltage regulator, not sure).
- The frame is cracked.
- The brake lines are rusting and, while they pass this year, they will need to be replaced before next year. This is an all-day project on this particular year of Silverado because of how Chevy ran the lines (I really think engineers should be forced to fix their designs so they'll understand just how stupid they really are sometimes).
- The passenger rocker panel and the rear wheel wells are already rusting out and will need to be fixed soon even though they pass for now.
- I paid far too much for this truck and will be paying for another three and a half years.
So far I'm not seeing the advantage to buying new or used cars from dealers. I could have paid a few hundred for another junker, done a bunch of DIY repairs and brought it in when it wasn't something I could have done and replaced it when it inevitably died. I would have saved thousands. Lots of thousands.
no subject
Date: 2007-10-01 09:34 pm (UTC)From:I hope you have better luck in the future.
no subject
Date: 2007-10-02 07:17 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2007-10-02 11:43 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2007-10-02 07:17 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2007-10-02 05:55 pm (UTC)From:Your experience certainly isn't typical though, so maybe Kathy should be in charge of vehicle purchases from now on? Couldn't be any worse at least :P
no subject
Date: 2007-10-02 07:15 pm (UTC)From:The tires I knew were needed because they were showing signs of cracking and such. It's a bit disappointing considering I just paid $13,000 (which is actually more like $18,000 when I'm done paying off the loan) for the damned thing and the least they could have done was throw some new tires on. The cracking tires is just a matter of age.
The rust actually started to bubble to the surface shortly after I bought it less than a year ago and before there was even snow on the ground, so I suspect it was an issue before the truck was up for sale and they did a shoddy job of fixing it (i.e. more like a cover-up body job than fixing it right the first time).
The engine troubles are something wrong pre-existing I'm sure. As I mentioned the first problem surfaced a couple of days after I brought the thing home. I suspect their mechanics probably cracked the spark plug in the rush to get the ignition security problem fixed the day I went to pick it up. The current trouble I'm not sure. I suppose it could be a matter of how I drive. The hesitation upon acceleration when it first starts up and gets moving has been persistent since I bought it.
The cracked frame? I can't imagine anything I did just from normal driving causing that. Cracked frames usually happen from accidents and I haven't had any bad accidents, let alone any that involved the rear half of my truck.
Most of my previous troubles I know were from my horrible eye for picking a good deal and just buying whatever junker I could afford. This time I went to a dealer and had someone with me who had already been through the car buying process who looked the vehicle over, too. I think I'm more sore about this because a) I went to a dealer and hoped I would find a more reliable vehicle, b) I paid a very large sum of money for this vehicle (on credit), and c) I was cornered into the financing by my co-signer.
Maybe I'll just bike everywhere. :P
no subject
Date: 2007-10-03 10:13 am (UTC)From:There is the motor scooter option. :)
no subject
Date: 2007-10-03 11:15 am (UTC)From: